College of Medicine Research & Ethics Committee (COMREC)

The Common Rule provides guidelines for IRB membership in 45 CFR 46.107:

“…The IRB shall be sufficiently qualified through the experience and expertise of its members, and the diversity of the members, including consideration of race, gender, and cultural backgrounds and sensitivity to such issues as community attitudes, to promote respect for its advice and counsel in safeguarding the rights and welfare of human subjects.”

CoMREC has a wide-representation from the scientific members from CoM and KCN and also lay members representing the general public. Members from CoM are appointed by Principal upon proposal and recommendation from the faculties and academic departments. Members from KCN are appointed by the Principal of KCN. The Committee also has a lay member who represents the interests of the general public. The function of the lay member is to provide advise on community attitudes, promote respect for participant or communities that participate in research and to make sure that participant information sheets and informed consent forms are accessible and understandable to participants

The duration of appointment for the Committee shall be three (3) years. A member may be reappointed to serve another 3 year term. Normally a member can only serve two consecutive terms. If a position fall vacant and is filled, the appointed member shall serve up to the end of the remaining term of the Committee and for reappointment shall be regarded as having served a full term.


January 2017- December 2019


From College

  • Dr. Charles Dzamalala Pathologist (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. Petros Kayange Surgeon (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. Louisa Alfazema Pharmaceutical Chemistry (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. Yohannie Mlombe Haematologist (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. Peter Finch Internal Medicine (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. R. Mkakosya Microbiologist (serving 2nd term)
  • Dr. Charles Mangani Public Health Specialist (serving 1st term)
  • Dr. Felix Namboya Anesthetist (serving 1st term)
  • Dr. Eliza Kampira Laboratory Scientist/Geneticist (serving 1st term)


  • Mrs. Rhoda Thombozi Lay member
  • Dr. Damson Kathyola Ophthalmologist (NHSRC representative)
  • Dr. Martias Joshua Public Health Practitioner (NHSRC representative)
  • Dr. Leo Masamba Oncologist (QECH representative)
  • Dr. E. Mkwinda Advanced nursing practice, Palliative care and Community nursing (KCN)
  • Dr. Lignet Chepuka Nursing (KCN)